Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Surry County Extension and Community Association (ECA)

The Extension Community Association (ECA) is a volunteer organization that partners with N.C. Cooperative Extension to empower individuals and families improve their quality of living through continuing education, leadership development and community service.


The mission of the North Carolina ECA is to strengthen families and communities through:

  • Leadership Development
  • Community Action
  • Educational Support
  • Research-based education from North Carolina State University and North Carolina A&T State University


Membership dues are $10.00 per year. New members are always welcome! There are currently five active ECA clubs in and 60 members located in Surry County:

  • Beulah Club (Goldie Sparger, President)
  • Good Neighbor Club (Glenda Hunter, President)
  • Happy Tracks Club (Jean Hardy, President)
  • Pilot Mountain Achievers (Marilyn Geiger, President)
  • Siloam Club (Joy Hemmings, President)

Affairs of the local Extension Community Association are governed by the Surry County ECA County Council:

Marilyn Geiger (Pilot Mountain Achievers), President

Sarah Bryant (Pilot Mountain Achievers), 1st Vice President

Lisa Royal (Pilot Mountain Achievers), Rec. Secretary

Goldie Sparger (Beulah), Treasurer

Camilla Cook (Dobson Early Birds) and Susan Johnson (Good Neighbor), Correspondence/Benevolence

Joy Hemmings (Siloam), Advisor

Carmen J. Long (N.C. Cooperative Extension), Agent